The Donahey Law Firm

Our Blog

2 minutes read

How are traumatic brain injuries classified?


The effects of traumatic brain injuries can vary greatly from one TBI to another. When a person suffers from a TBI, the classification of the injury has a big impact on how the injury will affect them and how they are expected to recover. There are three classifications of TBIs that you should know about if you or a loved one suffered from a TBI.

What is a severe TBI?

A severe TBI is one that leaves a person unconscious for more than 24 hours. This is the most serious classification of TBI that is associated with long-term damage.

What is a moderate TBI?

A moderate TBI is one that leaves a person unconscious for at least 30 minutes. This type of TBI isn’t as serious as a severe TBI, but the effects can last longer and be more serious than those associated with a mild TBI.

What is a mild TBI?

A mild TBI is one that isn’t associated with unconsciousness. In some cases, a mild TBI might involve up to 30 minutes of unconsciousness. The effects of a mild TBI can occur right away, but might take a few days or weeks to develop. Generally, the effects of a mild TBI will last a shorter period of time than the effects of a moderate or severe TBI.

When people suffer TBIs in accidents, they might choose to explore the possibility of seeking compensation. Determining who should be held liable and building a case are critical for anyone who chooses to seek compensation for a TBI.

Source: Alzheimer's Association, “Traumatic Brain Injury,” accessed Jan. 06, 2016

Recent Posts

Contact Us Today!
You need help? Fill out the form, describe your case
and arrange an initial, free consultation.